The Silica-Tuberculosis Link: Updating the Relationship and Prevention Practices

Date: 
jeu, 15/04/2021 - 16:00 to 17:30
Où: 
online webinar

The International Commission on Occupational Health (ICOH) Subcommittee on Silica Dust Exposure and TB in coordination with the Mining Occupational Safety and Health (MinOSH) Scientific Committee presents a webinar highlighting the relationship between silica dust exposure and Tuberculosis (TB) risk and exploring strategies to reduce exposures. This webinar is open to all ICOH members and all interested parties at no cost by registering in advance at this link:

 
                        https://bit.ly/3m4aw98
 
This 90 minute webinar will provide an update on recent research linking silica, silicosis and Tuberculosis and present solutions to reduce exposures in high-risk vulnerable workers in mining, construction, and other industries. 
 

Speakers Topic
Marilyn Fingerhut
ICOH TB Liaison
Introduction
Rodney Ehrlich
Senior Research Scholar
School of Public Health and Family Medicine
University of Cape Town, South Africa
Silica, silicosis and tuberculosis – updating the causal relationship
Eduardo Algranti
Researcher
FUNDACENTRO
Mortality from silicosis in Brazil
Rene Leblanc 
Chemist
IOHA Past-President 
Prevention activity to reduce silica exposure
Perry Gottesfeld
Executive Director
Occupational Knowledge International
Silica standards:  The case for updating and adopting occupational exposure limits

 

Time schedule for Common Locations:
Location Local Time Time Zone
Washington DC (USA - District of Columbia) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 10:00:00 am EDT
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil - Rio de Janeiro) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 11:00:00 am BRT
Paris (France - Île-de-France) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 4:00:00 pm CEST
San Francisco (USA - California) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 7:00:00 am PDT
Jakarta (Indonesia - Jakarta Special Capital Region) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 9:00:00 pm WIB
Manila (Philippines) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 10:00:00 pm PHST
Cape Town (South Africa) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 4:00:00 pm SAST
New Delhi (India) Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 7:30:00 pm IST

 
--
Occupational Knowledge International (OK International)
4444 Geary Blvd. Suite 208
San Francisco, CA 94118   USA

+1 415-221-8900

www.okinternational.org